Comprises of the following organs;

a) Council of Ministers;

b) Technical Advisory Committee; 

c) Secretariat

Council of Ministers

The Council is composed of the Ministers in charge of Internal Security matters and /or any other Minister who shall have been designated by the Member State.  It is head by a Chairperson who is nominated on an alphabetical-rotational basis of the Member States.

Technical Advisory Committee

The Technical Advisory Committee consists of duly appointed National Focal Point Coordinators of each Member State, the Executive Secretary as well as civil society representatives. It is headed by a Chairperson assisted by a Deputy Chairperson.


The Secretariat is the Executive body of the Centre and shall be; staffed by professionals through competitive interviews in conformity with agreed UN and AU targets: mainstreaming gender and providing priority to women. It is headed by the Executive Secretary appointed by the Council of Ministers. The Secretariat is hosted in the Republic of Kenya.


Republic of Burundi, Central African Republic, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Djibouti, Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, State of Eritrea, Republic of Kenya, Republic of Rwanda, Republic of Seychelles, Federal Republic of Somalia, Republic of South Sudan, Republic of the Sudan, United Republic of Tanzania, Republic of Uganda.